Oh, sheet!

So somehow we’ve ended up with only one sheet set in the house, and of course last night that sheet set ended up in the laundry. Ok, we only use the fitted because my hubby thrashes around in his sleep and gets the flat sheet all bunched up, and what’s the point of even having it if you’re going to find it jammed in the footboard by morning? I’ve long given up on folding and neatly tucking the edges hospital style. A perfectionist, I’m not.

Anyways, I decided today that I would venture out after church to attain a new sheet for our bed. That should be fairly simple, right? Once you get used to lugging two children around it becomes a nonissue. I wanted bedding We needed bedding so off we went, the girls and I.

 Everyone has their own preferences when it comes to bedding–my only preference this time? Made in America. Between national and local economy issues and being married to a man who is PASSIONATE about his family business, I decided that I’d make a real effort to buy American made products as much as possible without breaking the bank. The national news had a few stories too, where they cleaned a house out of everything not made in America- the family was left with a vase, and something else I forgot. It spoke to me.  So I picked up the phone to call a few stores in the Portland area before wasting the gas to get out there.

 60 Minutes later: no gas wasted. no fussing from the girls. no American-made sheets.

I called ten stores (got put on hold for 13 minutes by one place as they hand-checked the entire stock) with no results. J.C. Penney, Sears, Bed, Bath, & Beyond, Mills & Co, America’s Mattress, Cuddledown, L.L. Bean, Target, Wal-Mart, and Marshalls all had nothing to offer me.  I ended up bartering with a manager at Marshall’s to get a clearanced Ralph Lauren fitted for ten dollars. Bartering works wonders in the stores- don’t be shy, just be friendly and ask. The worst they’ll say is no, and then you can either buy it or put it back. Anyways, now that I’m home I’ve found a few brands that carry American made sheets. Not in my budget, but maybe in yours:

  • Heart of Vermont
  • Native Organic
  • Cozytown Linens
  • Celia Rachel
  • KellyGreen

What about you?

