Mrs. Plummer’s Famous Haddock Chowder

That was my facebook status. And okay, I had to admit, my friend Jessie was dazzled. “You can knit and you have a famous chowder?” she commented. I must reply honestly…the only person who knows it’s famous is my husband. And he’s the only one who matters. BUT since it’s soeasy and soyummy I decided to share the recipe with you. I have no fancy pictures to make you salivate and no reviews promising good results. But I like it! And no, there are no exact measurements either. That’s just notmystyle. Feeds our little family of 4. I’d suggest doubling potatoes and haddock if you want to have leftovers. psleftoverssoooogood.

 

A *halfhazard* recipe

 

ingredients:

  1. 1 pound haddock ends (cheaper than haddock filets, same haddock)
  2. 2-3 potatoes
  3. corn
  4. onion
  5. butter
  6. half-and-half
  7. milk

Ok. Turn the stove on medium high with a mediumish large saucepan. throw in a chunk of butter. throw in some diced onion. brown the onion. Maybe use 1/4 of an onion? More if you like it strong.

While that’s browning, wash and chop up your potatoes into little cubes, sized to your preference. (seriously. some recipes say 1 inch cubes, etc. who really cares if they’re an inch? chop.them.up.) throw in another chunk of butter. throw in the potatoes. dump a little water in too, just enough to cover potatoes. turn on high. Cook those until they’re mushy.

dump in the corn. As much corn as you’d like. cook it all. Dump in some half and half. Enough to cover all your materials and then some.

While you bring that to a light boil chop up your haddock. throw it in. Cook until the haddock turns white and flaky.

While it’s all cooking together, maybe splash in some paprika, basil, onion powder, salt, pepper? Whatever you like. Tonight I did paprika, parsley, basil, onion powder, salt, pepper…

yum yum. Serve with GOLDFISH for your kids. unless they’re big. even then…

