Planning Ahead: How to Support Local Agriculture in the Spring/Summer

I’m over winter, and thinking spring already! The first day of spring is only two months out, and I am starting to plan my garden. If you don’t have a garden (or the space for one)

My friend Nikki over at Hipster Homesteading (www.Hipsterhomesteading.wordpress.com) is slowly making a wise move towards self-sustainability. She has some great posts about it–click the link above! Anyways, we were chatting and she started telling me about CSA’s. They’re fascinating and they make sense.

Now if you’re like me, you’re thinking that CSA sounds like a savings account or something. In some ways it is…saving local agriculture! Basically, you “buy” a share of a local farm and you get veggies all summer! Here’s more info:

http://www.localharvest.org/csa/

Do a quick google search of local CSA’s…it’s a great way to make sure that your money is going straight into the pocket of the farmer, and not to the oil companies transporting the food–the corporations regulating it–because in those cases, the farmer usually doesn’t get much of the cut. Wouldn’t you rather be able to SEE where your food is coming from?

Be sure to check back in a few days when I do a mini-expose on Victoria’s Secret!

