And the label almost frightened me into not purchasing it… (also known as Alicia’s accidental happening into the no-poo craze)

Ok. Flat out.The label on a bottle of Dr. Bronner’s castile soap is unnerving, to say the least. It’s half rap, half crazy mishmash of religion and strange promises. There are 2 things though, that did appeal to me.

1. This truly is a multi-tasker, and a gentle one at that. I can do laundry, clean counter tops, wash my face, shampoo my hair, mist my dog (that’s not a reccommended use, but Cooper now smells like peppermint) shave my legs, or wash dishes. Remember that not all of these uses are full strength, so one bottle goes a long way.

2. Obviously, the big one: Made in the USA!

I think it’s great to be able to read and understand every single ingredient on the list, btw:

Saponified Organic Coconut, Organic Palm and Organic Olive Oils (with Retained Glycerin), Water, Organic Hemp Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Salt, Citric Acid, Vitamin E.

So on my local grocery trip I picked some up in Peppermint and was excited to try it out at home. I’ve used it in all the manners I listed (not brushing my teeth with it. some of the recommended uses are just plain nutty) but I did shampoo with it. It left my hair clean and fresh feeling.

Upon doing research, I found out that it’s actually a great segway into the No-Poo movement (more about this next post, but I willsaythis: I’m 6 days in right now. Pictures coming soon…it’s interesting. We’ll see if it’s worth it!)

