Oaked

Hello, dear readers!

I have been very busy over here buying American, from the tires on my car to the soap I use in my bathroom, but today I’m posting about a yarn that many of you know and love: Madelinetosh. I came across a skein of Tosh DK in Smokey Orchid at a local yarn shop in Concord, New Hampshire, and the colors were so incredible I had to get it. Madtosh is dyed right here in US!Image

With fall coming, one of our family’s favorite traditions is to go out underneath the oak trees in our yard and collect acorns. We then use the acorns all over the house as decorations for harvest season! (Acorns in Mason Jars, acorns as counting tools, acorns in glass hurricanes around pillar candles) and thus, our house gets “Oaked”.

Some of the smallest traditions you keep can be some of the most cherished memories you have, and I wanted to freeze these moments in time for my girls. Thus, Oaked was born. I love the motif, along with the fact it’s a surprisingly speedy knit. It’s already getting chilly here in Maine (it’s 48 degrees as of right now!) so I knew R would be needing a hat soon.

Image
I am so appreciative of my testers and my tech editor, Carol Young, for all the hard work they’ve done in helping me develop this pattern. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did, and bring on the leaves! (and acorns šŸ˜‰

Here is the ravelry link if you want to come take a look:

http://www.ravelry.com/projects/AliciaPlum/oaked

Happy Knitting!

